Virginia Boating Information
Registration Questions:1-866-721-6911
Boating Registration Website:
State Tax Department Website:
Registration Grace Period (Days):90 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:4.3% + local tax
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:No
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Notes:$2,000 Maximum Sales Tax; State decal for documented vessels is available upon request.

State Fuel Tax Refunds:
All recreational boaters can apply for a $0.175 per-gallon refund of the state sales tax on highway gasoline, and a $0.16 per-gallon refund on state tax on highway diesel fuel. To qualify, one must purchase at least 5 gallons of fuel per purchase. The refund is available to everyone who applies, not just VA residents.

The forms can be found at any Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) office in Virginia. For more information, call (804) 367-1831 or (800) 823-8357.

Boating Law Administrator(804) 921-9147
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:45'L x 8'6"W x 13'6"H ,
Interstates 53'L x 8'6" x 13'6"H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:65'
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:3000 lbs.
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes (Over 7' High)
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Breakaway Breaks:Yes
Two Trailers:No
Hauling Permits Section:(804) 497-7135
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at