Texas Boating Information
Registration Questions:(800) 262-8755
Boating Registration Website:http://tpwd.texas.gov/fishboat/boat/owner/titles_and_registration/
State Tax Department Website:http://comptroller.texas.gov/taxes/
Registration Grace Period (Days):90 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:6.25%
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:Yes
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Notes:Purchased boats must be registered within 20 working days. Boats registered in another state have 90 days to register. Titles issued for outboard motors.

refund for highway/Road fuel taxes paid on marine fuel:
Recreational boaters can apply for a $0.20 per-gallon refund (before factoring in a 2% distributor's tax and a $1.50 filing fee) on state taxes paid for gasoline used in their boats. Although original invoices and receipts are not required to accompany the claim, filers are asked to keep all records for four years. The refund claim must be filed no later than one year after the first purchase being claimed.
Form 06-106 can be downloaded from the Internet at: www.window.state.tx.us/taxinfo/taxforms/06-forms.html. For more information, call the Texas Comptroller's office at 800-252-1383.

Boating Law Administrator(512) 389-4624
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:45'L x 8'6"W x 13'6"H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:65'
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:4500 lbs.
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes (Over 80' Long)
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Breakaway Breaks:Yes (Over 4000 lbs.)
Two Trailers:No
Insurance:Not required specifically for the trailer, may fall under the vehicle insurance
Oversize Permit Office:(800) 299-1700 opt 1
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at GovtAffairs@BoatUS.com