New Jersey Boating Information
Registration Questions:(609) 292-6500
Boating Registration Website:
State Tax Department Website:
Registration Grace Period (Days):180 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:

3.5% with a maximum of $20,000

New Jersey Department of Taxation FAQs on boat sales tax

Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:Yes
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Boating Law Administrator(609) 882-2000 ext. 6167
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:40'L x 8'6"W x 13'6"H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:53'
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:3000 lbs.
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes (Over 80 inches)
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Flares:N/A Commercial Only
Breakaway Breaks:Yes
Two Trailers:Yes
Wide Trailer Permit Office:(609) 530-6089
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at