Delaware Boating Information
Registration Questions:(302) 739-9916
Boating Registration Website:
State Tax Department Website:
Registration Grace Period (Days):60 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:0%
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:No
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:No
Boat Titles Issued:No
Notes:There is a Gross Receipts Tax that will increase the cost of vessels purchased from dealers.

Refund Highway/Road Fuel Taxes Paid on Marine Fuel
Delaware will refund 23 cents per gallon of fuel taxes paid on gasoline used in recreational watercraft. Refund must be requested within one year of purchase.

Go to to download forms and instructions.

Boating Law Administrator(302) 739-9916
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:40'L x 8'6"W x 13'6" H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:60' on Highways, 53' US numbered routes & interstates
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:All are required to have brakes
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Breakaway Breaks:N/A
Two Trailers:Yes
Insurance:Not required specifically for the trailer, may fall under the vehicle insurance
Hauling Permit:(302) 744-2700
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at