Your State's Boating Regulations
Delaware requires all undocumented motorboats principally used in Delaware to be registered in Delaware. A motorboat registered under a Federally approved system by another state can use Delaware waters for a period of 60 days before Delaware registration is required.
Apply for your boat registration at an authorized sales outlet. Call (302)739-3498 for more information. Boat registration fees are determined by boat length. The following fees apply
|CLASS||1 YR / 3 YRS|
|A Less than 16 feet||$10.00 / $30.00|
|1 16 feet to 26 feet||$20.00 / $60.00|
|2 26 feet to 40 feet||$30.00 / $90.00|
|3 40 feet to 65 feet||$50.00 / $150.00|
|4 65 feet and over||$60.00 / $180.00|
|The expiration is December 31st of each year.|
Upon application and payment of fees, you will be issued a certificate and two decals. The certificate of number is your registration and it must be on board the vessel whenever it is used. It indicates the boat's number. Properly display the boat's number as follows:
- The figures are to read from left to right.
- They must be displayed on the forward half of each side of the bow of the boat.
- Numbers must be in bold, block letters of good proportion.
- Numbers must be not less than three inches high.
- They must be of contrasting color to the boat hull or background.
- They must be as high above the waterline as practical.
- No number other than the number assigned can be displayed on the forward half of the vessel.
- Letters must be separated from numbers by spaces or hyphens.
- The decals must be attached to the hull within six inches of the numbers on each side.
It is important to keep the state's boating records up-to-date. Notify the Boating Administration office of:
- Any change in address.
- The theft or recovery of your vessel.
- The loss or destruction of a valid certificate of number.
- The transfer of all or part of the owner's interest in the vessel.
- The destruction or abandonment of the vessel.
HULL IDENTIFICATION NUMBERS:
Every vessel built after October 31, 1972, shall have a hull identification number (HIN) as required by federal law. If your boat is homemade, the department will issue you a HIN and provide instructions on permanently attaching it. It is against the law to destroy, remove, alter, cover, deface, or mutilate a HIN.