Washington Boating Information
Registration Questions:(360) 902-3770
Boating Registration Website:http://www.dol.wa.gov
State Tax Department Website:http://dor.wa.gov/Content/Home/Default.aspx
Registration Grace Period (Days):60 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:6.5% plus local
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:Yes
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Notes:Local sale and use tax apply.

State Fuel Tax Refund
Recreational boaters can apply for a partial refund of the state sales tax on highway motor fuel. The refund, 8%, is currently based on an average $1.60 paid per gallon. The state will process refunds when at least 87 gallons of gas is purchased. Boaters can claim a refund on purchases made within the past 13 months, and must include all sales receipts with the claim. For additional information pleae visit http://www.dol.wa.gov/vehicleregistration/ftrefunds.html

In order to apply for the refund, call the Washington State Department of Licensing's Fuel Tax Section at (360)664-1838 to obtain a permit number. Once that is issued, and an application for the refund will be mailed.

BUI Laws get tougher, Mandate Breathalyzer Tests

New Washington State boating under the influence (BUI) laws will take effect on July, 28, 2013. BUIs offenses will change from a misdemeanor to a gross misdemeanor and will be punishable by as much as a year in jail and a $5,000 fine. Additionally, there will be a legal limit on marijuana use. Any person with over 5 nanograms of marijuana in their system will be charged with BUI. The change is intended to deter people operating a boat while under the influence (BUI) by increasing the penalty and making breathalyzer tests mandatory (in cases where an officer has probable cause).

2011 Washington Boating Issues 
2009 Washington Boating Issues
Boating Law Administrator(360) 902-8836
Maximum Speed Limit:60 MPH over 10,000 lbs and must stay out of left lane, otherwise Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:53'L x 8'6"W x 14'H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:75'
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:3000 lbs. or less than 40% of towing vehicle's weight
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Taillights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Reflectors:Yes
Flares:No
Breakaway Breaks:Yes if requires brakes
Tiedowns:Yes
Two Trailers:No
Insurance:Not required specifically for the trailer, may fall under the vehicle insurance
Oversize Permit Office:(360) 704-6340
Website:www.wsdot.wa.gov/CommercialVehicle/permitting.htm
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at GovtAffairs@BoatUS.com

Washington Boating Alerts:

New BUI Laws increase Penalties and make Breathalyzer Tests Mandatory