South Carolina Boating Information
Registration Questions:(803) 734-3857
Boating Registration Website:

State Tax Department Website:
Registration Grace Period (Days):60 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:6%
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:no
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Notes:Maximum tax is $300, local sales tax may apply. Titles issued for outboard motors.
Boating Law Administrator(803) 734-4007
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:48'L x 8'6"W x 13'6"H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:N/A
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:3000 lbs.
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Breakaway Breaks:Yes
Two Trailers:No
Insurance:Not required specifically for the trailer, may fall under the vehicle insurance.
Wide Trailer Permit Office:(803) 737-6769
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at

South Carolina Boating Alerts:

We do not have any current state alerts at this time. If you have a boating related issue please email us at