Nebraska Boating Information
Registration Questions:(402) 471-0641
Boating Registration Website:
State Tax Department Website:
Registration Grace Period (Days):60 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:5.5%
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:No
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Notes:Local Sales and Use Tax also apply.

refund for highway/Road fuel taxes paid on marine fuel:
As of January 1, 2005, boaters wishing to apply for a refund of the state highway sales tax paid on gasoline used in their boats must fill out Form 84, available at Boaters must be claiming a refund of at least $25 and need a receipt that indicates that the gas was used in an unlicensed, or non-highway vehicle. For more information, call (800) 554-3835.

Boating Law Administrator(402) 471-5579
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:40'L x 8'6"W x 14'6"H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:65'
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:3,000 to 6,500 on at least 2 wheels, over 6,500 all wheels
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Clearance Lights:N/A
License Light:No
Turn Signals:Yes
Breakaway Brakes:Yes, 3,000 to 6,500 on at least 2 wheels, over 6,500 all wheels
Two Trailers:Yes (Up to 65')
Wide Trailer Permit Office:(402) 471-0034
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at

Nebraska Boating Alerts:

We do not have any current state alerts at this time. If you have a boating related issue please email us at