|Registration Questions:||(800) 628-3773|
|Boating Registration Website:||http://www.ncwildlife.org/Boating/RegistrationTitling.aspx|
|State Tax Department Website:||http://www.dor.state.nc.us/|
|Registration Grace Period (Days):||90 days|
|Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:||4.75%|
|Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:||Yes|
|State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:||Yes|
|Boat Titles Issued:||Yes|
|Notes:||Maximum tax due is $1,500|
refund for highway/Road fuel taxes paid on marine fuel:
Recreational boaters can apply for a refund of the state sales tax on gasoline and diesel fuel that is purchased at a highway pump for use in their boats. The current refund is approximately $0.18 per gallon, after taking the current tax of $0.242 and subtracting a use fee of $0.06. The claims are filed annually, and must have original sales invoices attached. Boaters may claim a refund back three years, as long as they have the receipts attached.
To download form Gas 1201 directly off the Internet, go to www.dor.state.nc.us/forms/. Once there, click on Motor Fuels and then scroll down to Gas-1201. For more information, call (919) 733-3409.
- Registered Boats: 371,879
- Numbering: All motorboats; sailboats more than 14'
- Square Miles of Inland Water: 5,103
- Square Miles of Coastline Shore: 3,375
- Launch Ramps: BoatUS Ramp Locator
- For More Information: (919)733-7191
- Website: https://www.ncalvin.org/Alvin/Controls/Vessel/PublicRenewal.aspx
- Contacts: www.BoatUS.com/gov/states/contact.asp
Smarter Boater Registration and Dredging Bill Awaits Governor's Action
Please thank your State Senator and Representative for passing a smarter S.B. 58 which raises boater registration fees in a common sense manner while generating reasonable means to pay for dredging North Carolina's coastal inlets and essential waterways as well as inland lakes.
S.B. 58, which was amended and added to the House Budget Bill has passed the House and now awaits Governor Pat McCrory's signature.
2008 North Carolina Boating News Archive
|Boating Law Administrator||(919) 707-0030|
|Maximum Speed Limit:||Posted Speed Limit|
|Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:||48'L x 8'6"W x 13'6"H|
|Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:||60'|
|Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:||4000 lbs.|
|Trailer Equipment Requirements:|
|Breakaway Breaks:||Yes, 4000 lbs, and up|
|Two Trailers:||No Commercial Only|
|Insurance:||Not required specifically for the trailer, may fall under the vehicle insurance.|
|Oversize/Overweight Permit Office:||(888) 574-6683|