Massachusetts Boating Information
Registration Questions:(617) 626-1610
Boating Registration Website:
State Tax Department Website:
Registration Grace Period (Days):60 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:6.25%
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:No
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Notes:For non-dealer sales, sales tax must be paid via the web site:

refund for highway/Road fuel taxes paid on marine fuel: Recreational boaters can apply for a $0.21 per-gallon refund (before factoring in a 5% user fee on the total refund amount) of state sales tax when they purchase highway fuel for use in their boats. To claim a refund on the gas tax, one must file within six months of the purchase date, and include all original sales invoices with the application. For a diesel fuel refund, one must file the claim within two years of the purchase date and include all original sales invoices with the application.

The gas tax refund form, GT-9M and diesel fuel refund form, SFT-9, can be downloaded from the Internet by going to For more information, call (617) 887-5070.

Boating Law Administrator(508) 366-6420
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:40'L x 8'6"W x 13' 6"H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:60'
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:10,000 lbs.
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Breakaway Breaks:Yes
Two Trailers:No
Insurance:Not required specifically for the trailer, may fall under the vehicle insurance.
Overlimit Permit:(781) 431-5148
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at

Massachusetts Boating Alerts:

We do not have any current state alerts at this time. If you have a boating related issue please email us at