Florida Boating Information
Registration Questions:850-617-2000
Boating Registration Website:http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/faqboat.html
State Tax Department Website:http://dor.myflorida.com/dor/
Registration Grace Period (Days):90 days
Boat Sales & Use Tax Rate:6%
Credit For Tax Paid In Another State:Yes
State Decal Required For Documented Vessel:Yes
Boat Titles Issued:Yes
Notes:Sales tax is capped at $18,000. Vessels brought into the state for repair exempt from registration requirement: Boats are registered at the county level, check with the county tax office. Click here for additional sales and use tax information.
Boating Law Administrator(850) -617-9544
Maximum Speed Limit:Posted Speed Limit
Maximum Dimensions For Trailer:40'L x 8'6"W x 13' 6"H
Maximum Overall Length with Vehicle & Trailer:65' No Overhang
Minimum Weight Requiring Separate Trailer Brakes:3000 lbs.
Trailer Equipment Requirements:
Safety Chains:Yes
Brake Lights:Yes
Taillights:Yes
Clearance Lights:Yes
License Light:Yes
Turn Signals:Yes
Reflectors:Yes
Flares:Yes
Breakaway Breaks:Yes
Tiedowns:Yes
Two Trailers:No
Insurance:Not required specifically for the trailer, may fall under the vehicle insurance.
Oversize Permit Office:(850) 410-5777
Website:www.fdotmaint.com/permit
For specific questions about boating issues or BoatUS Government Affairs, please e-mail the department at GovtAffairs@BoatUS.com

Florida Boating Alerts:

The U.S. Coast Guard is conducting a navigational survey of the waterways that
could be affected by the new
"All Aboard Florida" rail service.

Download fillable form
and email completed form directly to: USCGD7DPBPublicComment@uscg.mil.

National Park Service holding additional public forms on the Future of Biscayne National Park

Make your voice heard