] ]

 
] ] ]
]
Welcome Guest ]
]
] ]

] ] ]
]
Site Navigation ]
]
] ]

] ] ]
]
Top 10 Recent Posts ]
View Last Post Murray Chris Craft Constellations
Pages 1 2 3 4 ... 149 » 150
Last Post By: Capt Jim
Forum: Chris Craft

Posted: August 29 2014 at: 11:06

View Last Post 1991 Four Winns 365
Last Post By: Blue Moon 138
Forum: Four Winns

Posted: July 16 2014 at: 17:35

View Last Post Seat Cushions
Last Post By: Michael Acord
Forum: Sea Fox

Posted: June 06 2014 at: 16:02

View Last Post Sail cleanin’ and hull patchin’
Last Post By: dad21dawg
Forum: Hunter

Posted: May 29 2014 at: 16:01

View Last Post 1983 25’ Chris Craft Catalina
Last Post By: fred6963
Forum: Chris Craft

Posted: May 27 2014 at: 14:26

View Last Post 1963 Constellation 42
Last Post By: spellbound
Forum: Chris Craft

Posted: May 06 2014 at: 08:31

View Last Post Viking Yachts Links
Last Post By: Viking44
Forum: Viking Yacht

Posted: April 17 2014 at: 06:32

View Last Post Amerosport 320
Last Post By: Jerry737
Forum: Chris Craft

Posted: April 13 2014 at: 16:00

View Last Post Any Uniflite Owners near Berkeley CA???
Last Post By: concordian
Forum: Uniflite

Posted: March 08 2014 at: 02:27

View Last Post Inverter
Last Post By: eshover
Forum: Chris Craft

Posted: February 03 2014 at: 11:32

]
] ]
   
Chris Craft
 BoatUS Boat Groups/Manufacturer Forums>>Chris Craft
Subject Topic: 50 amp question Post ReplyPost New Topic
 
] ] ]
]
Author
Message Prev Topic | Next Topic 
courtship
"Seaman Recruit"




Joined: December 08 2008
Posts: 3
Posted: December 04 2013 at 17:06 | IP Logged Quote courtship

I haven't been on here lately but with winter coming I have some time on my hands. Todays question is about AC power. My 1990 501 has both 50/125 and 50/250 inlets on the Port side and 50/125 and 50/250 cords via the Glendening on the Starboard side. I haven't seen any marinas with 125 in a long time but am wondering if anyone out there has ever tried to use both at the same time. I ask because the house lighting don't need the 250 amp supply (all five air conditioners obviously require it) and if I could run the house on 125 and the air conditioners on 250 it would make power management a breeze.

Does anyone out there have any experience with this issue?

Thanks!

__________________
Steve Donock
CourtShip
1990 501 Constellation
Back to Top Printable version View courtship's Profile Search for other posts by courtship
 
Pats2nd Connie
"Deckhand"




Joined: June 28 2013
Posts: 157
Posted: December 04 2013 at 19:13 | IP Logged Quote Pats2nd Connie

Unfortunately my main selector switch was broken by my broker during
the "shakedown" cruise he offered to do.   I believe it was welded in
the 1&2 position and when he switched to generator I could never get
it back to 1&2.   Hence I am currently running on only 1cord, I choose
the 250. For now it is not a issue but when I am in Florida for the
summer, I will want the full Monty.

__________________
Patrick hoffman
Back to Top Printable version View Pats2nd Connie's Profile Search for other posts by Pats2nd Connie
 
eshover
"Deckhand"




Joined: July 02 2011
Posts: 205
Posted: December 04 2013 at 19:40 | IP Logged Quote eshover

Pat - if by "welded" you mean electrically welded due to
shorting circuits. I recommend you open that panel on a
priority basis and examine all electrical connections before
you burn your boat down. I had an issue where I was
docked after a run on the generator and had rolled over to
shore power. I walked up the dock to pay my slip fee and
my wife yelled to me that smoke was filling the lower
salon. I ran back and shut down all electrical sources. I
keep an IR gun on my boat (a necessity in my mind) and
checked the panel and it was hot! I opened the panel and
discovered three loose connections on the the main rotary
switch and one on one of the roll-over switches!! One was
burned so badly that I found some properly sized wire and
replaced it.   Be forewarned!

__________________
"Southern Charm"
1986 Connie 500
Back to Top Printable version View eshover's Profile Search for other posts by eshover
 
Pats2nd Connie
"Deckhand"




Joined: June 28 2013
Posts: 157
Posted: December 04 2013 at 20:29 | IP Logged Quote Pats2nd Connie

Emory, I have had a couple of electrician look at it. Connection are
fine.   However if I try to go back to 1&2 everything goes dead.   They
say it is the switch. Minimum of 2400 to replace. I have been waiting
for a more experienced guy that could fix the switch or add another
50amp switch to carry the load of a few items. Everything works fine
off of one line until I load it too much and the dock breaker cuts off.
Hence we limit the a/c. Dryer and stove functions.

__________________
Patrick hoffman
Back to Top Printable version View Pats2nd Connie's Profile Search for other posts by Pats2nd Connie
 
Grey Goose
"Deckhand"




Joined: October 25 2009
Posts: 200
Posted: January 10 2014 at 12:20 | IP Logged Quote Grey Goose

Hi Steve

I have a 1987 501 with probably the same power set
up as yours. For some reason the 50/125 blows the
main breaker when I plug it in. But the way it is
supposed to work, when you select all three lines, the
50/250 cord powers the #1 and #2 breaker section.
The 50/125 powers the #3 breaker section. Normally
the 50\250 works powering #1 and #2 & #3 are
combined as the same. Hope that makes sense.


__________________
-- Goose --
"Grey Goose"
1987 Chris Craft 501
Back to Top Printable version View Grey Goose's Profile Search for other posts by Grey Goose
 
courtship
"Seaman Recruit"




Joined: December 08 2008
Posts: 3
Posted: January 13 2014 at 15:28 | IP Logged Quote courtship

Goose - Thanks! We do have the same set up. What you're describing is what I was hoping. Now to get an extra 50/125 at my slip! It would be nice to say good-bye to power management once in a while.


__________________
Steve Donock
CourtShip
1990 501 Constellation
Back to Top Printable version View courtship's Profile Search for other posts by courtship
 
Pats2nd Connie
"Deckhand"




Joined: June 28 2013
Posts: 157
Posted: January 13 2014 at 16:15 | IP Logged Quote Pats2nd Connie

Emory, I'm glad Steve brought this issue up again. It reminds me to
check all thes connections when we return to the boat.

__________________
Patrick hoffman
Back to Top Printable version View Pats2nd Connie's Profile Search for other posts by Pats2nd Connie
 
Grey Goose
"Deckhand"




Joined: October 25 2009
Posts: 200
Posted: January 13 2014 at 16:37 | IP Logged Quote Grey Goose

Steve

The #3 circuit does not draw that much load. If you
have a 30 amp outlet at your slip, why not give it a
try.
Worst thing that could happen is blow the circuit
breaker on the pier. You would have 130 amps
coming in instead of only 100. May just work out for
you.

Edited by Grey Goose on January 13 2014 at 16:38


__________________
-- Goose --
"Grey Goose"
1987 Chris Craft 501
Back to Top Printable version View Grey Goose's Profile Search for other posts by Grey Goose
 
Pats2nd Connie
"Deckhand"




Joined: June 28 2013
Posts: 157
Posted: January 13 2014 at 17:56 | IP Logged Quote Pats2nd Connie

Mine was on one 50 amp and one 30 amp, giving me 80 amps total.

__________________
Patrick hoffman
Back to Top Printable version View Pats2nd Connie's Profile Search for other posts by Pats2nd Connie
 
]
] ]
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post ReplyPost New Topic

] ] ]
]
  ]
Printable version Printable version
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
]
] ]

] ] ]
]
©2014, Boat Owners Association of The United States. All Rights Reserved.
This page was generated in 0.7813 seconds.
]
] ]